Makin’ relish

I haven’t had much time to cook-through my recipe book lately to keep up with my cook-through challenge.  Summer has become a busy time for us.

Now it’s relish makin’ time.  Zucchini Relish to be exact.  This is so simple to make and the best tastin’ relish.  I’m using our own home grown zucchini and onions but I had to buy the peppers since ours aren’t ready yet.

I’ve been making this relish since 2015 from the Ball Blue Book.

 

The veggies are sitting in salt water for now.  In a couple of hours they will be ready to be cooked with the vinegar and spices for canning.

We are having a better year with our garden compared to 2016 and have been preserving many things.  We will be very busy when our tomatoes begin to ripen.  We have 6 Roma tomato plants and plan to can a lot of them.  We also have 4 others for eating and they are all growing quite well along with everything else.

I hope to find time soon to make some new recipes for the cook-through challenge.  As I said in the beginning we will make as many recipes from our books as time allows.  And summer isn’t allowing me much time for that!

 Happy summer!

~Speak to me~

