Chaotic Cooking-Through Challenge : Vinaigrette Salad Dressing

I’m so happy I began this Challenge and chose this cookbook.

As it is now Springtime and we are enjoying more fresh salads I am excited to begin making homemade salad dressings.  They are not something which I’ve typically made unless a special dressing was needed for a homemade salad and I certainly overlooked the simplicity and ease in putting these together.

My first recipe which I’ve made is a Vinaigrette Onion Salad Dressing.

This Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook’s many recipes has variations written to “change-up” the basic recipe and I chose to add fresh spring onion (Thanks, Dad!) to mine to turn the basic Vinaigrette dressing recipe into an Onion Vinaigrette.

Here are the ingredients which I used in my recipe.  Not much to making it and I have everything in my home without having to purchase anything extra.

Because the recipes which I will be making are not my own but BHG’s and I don’t want to have any copyright violations I will provide a link in my blog post to the recipe on the BHG website, if available.  I will provide the tweaks and variations which I did to their recipe here in my blog posts.

This Basic Vinaigrette recipe is at the following link: Basic Vinaigrette

I used olive oil, dried oregano and freshly ground black pepper for the seasonings but I did not use the mustard they suggested.

The various dressing recipes in the book mention that they can be stored in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks so I only made half the recipe.  We really enjoyed it though and there is still some left.

I made sure to mark the book with the date and my instructions on ingredients/substitutions which I used.

This one’s definitely a “keeper” and I will make it again!

What all are you enjoying at your table?

2 thoughts on “Chaotic Cooking-Through Challenge : Vinaigrette Salad Dressing

  1. That looks like the perfect dressing for a fresh salad! Also a good idea to note any changes or variations with the recipe. I also shared my first salad recipe today – this is really a fun challenge!

~Speak to me~

