Saturday night suppers at home are the absolute Best!!

I absolutely love staying home on Saturday night and cooking supper.

I can make anything I choose to with any ingredients which I desire, eat at the exact time I want to and I don’t have to wait in line for a seat at the table.

It is the best!!  This weekend was no exception.

I’m going to share my recipe for the fabulous (and healthy!!) meal which we ate.

It is a casserole using spaghetti squash, veggies and ground meat.  You can make this meatless if you choose but I always love adding ground venison.

I’ve very blessed to have a Father and Husband who love to hunt.  There is always some type of wild game in my freezer and venison is something which we really enjoy.

This is really a simple and rather quick dish to get together.  The flavor is AMAZING!!!  You will love it, I guarantee it!

To prepare spaghetti squash

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.  Cut the spaghetti squash in half and remove the seeds.  (I kept some and want to try getting some plants to start for my garden this year)

Place the squash on a baking sheet, cut sides down, and bake for roughly 40 minutes (depending on the size of your squash it won’t take all of that time).  When the squash “flesh” is soft, remove from the oven and take off the baking sheet to allow it to cool.  When cool enough for you to handle shred the “flesh” by removing it from the skins with a fork and place into a bowl.

Turn your oven temp back to 350 degrees in preparation for baking the casserole.

While the spaghetti squash is baking in oven

While my squash is baking/softening the “flesh” in the oven I begin the rest of the casserole.

Take the ground meat of your choice (approx 1 pound) and brown in a bit of oil (I use olive oil) in a pan (I also sprinkle some granulated garlic or season-salt over my meat as it is browning in the pan).  Since venison is very lean meat I don’t have to worry about fat.  If you use ground beef/pork you will most likely have to drain off some fat when it is completely browned.  If you don’t want to use meat than just skip to the next step.

After the meat is browned add the following to the pan

( You can use whatever you want to here in the recipe; I will share with you what I use. I don’t measure these ingredients; I just use whatever I want to or use up whatever is in the fridge. )

1 can garbanzo beans

sliced black olives

1 clove garlic

cut up onion

1 pint home-canned Roma tomatoes (or you could use fresh if you want to)

chopped sweet peppers

sliced fresh mushrooms

After the meat and veggies are cooked in the pan for a while and some of the moisture has evaporated away just add all of this to the bowl with the squash.

Before mixing all together in the bowl add the following flavorings or use what you want or have in your kitchen

1/4 tsp Italian seasoning

some salt and freshly ground pepper

shredded colby-jack (or cheddar or other sharp flavor) cheese

I then mix everything together really well and place into a greased casserole dish and bake in the oven.

Bake it uncovered for approx 30 minutes or until it is the way you like it.  You can always add more cheese over the top and anything else you have on hand.

I really enjoy just using up what I have on-hand in my kitchen when I make casseroles like this.  You never know what flavors and ingredients will taste like together unless you try.

Enjoy!!

~Speak to me~

