Sunburst

I decided to ‘frog’ my Pentagon Afghan for the time being and rolled up all of that yarn back into balls for later use.  It wasn’t going so well and the errors in it were bothersome.

I love various granny square blankets with pops of color and found another pattern on Ravelry.com named Sunburst Granny Square Blanket Tutorial.  These are so cute and quick to make.

As you can see from this photo of my first square I’ve chosen a light color named Aran, Gold for my main “petals” of flowers or “rays” of sun and Pewter as the base color.  You can certainly make it very colorful by using various colors.  I was able to make 5 yesterday and when completing the last round in the Pewter color I used the ‘join-as-you-go’ method of attaching the squares to each other.

This was the first time I’ve used that joining method and I absolutely love it!!  I also took care of all of my yarn ends before I even joined these squares together so that makes this project more bearable, in my opinion.  🙂

My goal, initially starting this project, is to make an afghan with these three colors.  After measuring each square and then measuring them together as they are joined I approximate that I will need at least 8 squares across in width and 14 rows down in length to have it be a nice size afghan to snuggle under.  Creating these squares actually goes quickly and now that I’m getting the hang of joining them together as I crochet the final round, and that will improve, I may be able to get this afghan together quickly.

And with ‘Stella’ on her way to the Mid Atlantic on Tuesday I think I will have at least two days of crocheting this week!!!

🙂

If you want to join along and crochet this pattern, you can find it on Ravelry.com or at this link to the website where the instructions are given in further detail:

 http://nittybits.blogspot.com.au/2013/01/sunburst-granny-square-blanket-tutorial.html

Happy Crocheting!!!

~Speak to me~

