Blue Jay Cowl of Winter

It seems like ‘Seed Stitch’ gets a lot of attention for knitting cowls and many other items.

It is a beautiful stitch but I wanted to create something a little different than all the other patterns I seem to find.

And I wanted to create another warm and cozy cowl for myself.

After looking through a Knit Stitch Book I found the Rice Stitch.  It is a simple yet beautiful stitch for knitting.

I chose Wool-Ease Thick & Quick yarn in the Blue Jay color for this project and the Blue Jay Cowl of Winter was born!

The Rice Stitch is simple to follow:

CO a multiple of 2 stitches plus one|(CO=cast on)

Row 1 (Right side): P1,*k1 tbl, p1; rep from * to end|(P=Purl); (k1 tbl=Knit 1 through the back loop); (rep=repeat)

Row 1 (Wrong side): Knit

Rep rows 1 and 2 for Rice Stitch

To work it for circular knitting you just switch row 2 to Purl Stitches rather than Knit Stitches.

In doing this I created the following pattern for my Blue Jay Cowl of Winter:

I cast on 120 stitches to a 10 mm (29″) circular needle.  The reason I cast on an even number is when I began knitting Row 1 I actually Purled the first two stitches together for a tighter join.  In doing this I reduced the stitches down to 119 which is the odd number needed for the Rice Stitch pattern.  If you don’t want to do this, just cast on 119 (or whatever amount you want as long as it is a multiple of 2 stitches plus one which to me says “odd number”) 🙂

Then I continued with Row 1 as follows: *k1 tbl, p1; rep * to end

Row 2: Purl all stitches

Continue with knitting as follows:

Row 1: P1,*k1 tbl, p1; rep from * to end

Row 2: Purl all stitches

As the rice stitch pattern continues you will see beautiful bumps on the front of your work like this:

img_2898-edit

If you look at the back you will see beautiful rows of knit stitches like this:

img_2899-edit

I continued until I had 8 bumps per vertical row and decided that the width was good for me.

I then did Row 1 again and followed that by binding off in a purl-2-together decrease bind off  which is done by purling 2 together and then taking the stitch on the right needle and placing it over on the left needle and continuing that same method to the end.

When completed my cowl measures approximately 5 1/2″ in width which includes the co and bo edges.  I used 1 1/2 skeins of my super bulky yarn.

img_2896-edit

I am able to wrap it around my neck twice for a warm, cozy but not too-tight, fit.

img_2905-edit

~Speak to me~

