‘3 Ridges & 2 Valleys Over’ Knit Dishcloth

I’m truly in my element when I’m at home; away from other people and the chaos in the world.

I’m currently on my Thanksgiving Break from work and in the peace and quite which I am able to obtain in the solitude of my home I have created my first knit pattern.

It is a quick-knit item which is simplistic and yet it is unique and useful.

I have created the ‘3 Ridges & 2 Valleys Over’ Knit Dishcloth.

I used nearly one skein of Lily Sugar ‘n Cream 2 oz. 100% cotton yarn in the Red White & Blue color with 5 mm knitting needles.

It includes an I-cord edge and the Decrease Bind Off (which is a stretchy bind off).

As you knit this dishcloth you will notice that it will take several rows before the I-cord edge reveals itself and you will be pleasantly surprised as its beauty.

To begin, you may cast on any odd number of stitches (I cast on 53 stitches because I make my dishcloths larger than normal due to the shrinkage which will occur after the first time I wash and dry them in my dryer).  I use the Knit Cast On method, but you may use any method you enjoy.

Rows 1 through 6: Knit all stitches to the last 3 stitches; sl3 wyif (slip 3 with the yarn in front)

Row 7: Knit 3; Purl to last 3 stitches; sl3 wyif

Rows 8 through 14: Knit all stitches to the last 3 stitches; sl3 wyif

Continue Knitting Pattern by repeating Rows 7 through 14 until desired length is obtained.

To Bind Off in the Decrease Bind Off method you will do the following:

K2tog tbl (Knit 2 together through the back loop), slip that stitch back to the left needle and continue to the end of the row.   Cut your yarn and weave in the ends.

If you are crunched for time for a homemade gift, you will find that you can create several of these in a short time period.

Happy dish washing!

img_2806

~Speak to me~

