My Favorite Filling (You call it Stuffing)

Here in PA Dutch Country, many people say ‘Filling’ rather then ‘Stuffing’ for that wonderful, tasty, scrumptious side next to the turkey.

Some people actually put it in the turkey but I don’t do that.  I prefer to make my Filling in a dish by itself.  My favorite is the Old-Fashioned type and recently we began adding mushrooms to it.  We absolutely love it!

You may desire to try something different this Thanksgiving so I will share my homemade recipe for Mushroom Filling.  It is not difficult to make and most people will have the simple ingredients in their kitchen at this moment.  It is definitely very tasty!

The ingredients listed will fill an 8″x 8″ dish (double or triple it to feed a crowd; I often do).

Ingredients

1 cup finely chopped celery

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/2 cup unsalted butter (1 stick)

1 tsp of parsley (crushed) (or other herb you enjoy)

8 cups bread cubes (dried if you prefer)-Please note: I always take 16 slices of white bread and cube it up.  If I let it on the counter for a little while, uncovered, it will dry out a bit but I don’t worry about it if the bread isn’t dried and I never buy bread cubes to make this.

1/2 cup to 1 cup chicken broth, turkey broth or water (your preference)-I always use broth

Roughly 1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms (or use more if you really love them!)

Directions

In a saucepan cook celery and onion in butter til tender but not brown.

Saute your sliced mushrooms in a separate pan to remove the excess water in them and brown them a bit.

Add the mushrooms to the cooked celery and onion.

Stir in your parsley (or other herb) and add salt and pepper to your preference if you want to add it now.  I often just add fresh ground pepper and leave the salt out.  Your guests/family can add salt, at the table, if they want it and if you use gravy you probably won’t need any additional salt.

Add the celery, onion, mushroom mixture to the bread cubes in a large bowl and then begin gradually adding your broth and tossing everything together in the bowl.  You want everything to be moist but not extremely moist or it will need to bake longer in the oven.  If you use fresh bread, you won’t need to add as much broth to your Filling.

Place into a buttered 8″x 8″ pan and bake it uncovered in the oven with your other food.

A rough estimation on times and temps are as follows:

325 degree oven for 40-45 minutes

375 degree oven for 20-30 minutes

I just add it to the oven and keep an eye on it until it is as browned as I like it.  My turkey is typically done, out of the oven and “resting” before my Filling and that’s okay too.

If you have any questions, just ask.  This is a basic Old-Fashioned Filling recipe and you can tweak it as you like.  Add in anything you enjoy and see what you create!

Your Family will Thank You!!

(I recently baked a roaster-chicken for supper with this Filling, sweet potatoes, gravy and jellied cranberries on the side.  It was a mini-Thanksgiving meal and I often make this recipe throughout the year and definitely at the holidays.)

img_2746

img_2747

img_2748

~Speak to me~

