Vintage Appliance Cookbooks

When I received my Grandmother’s cookbooks and recipes I found she had held onto several cookbooks/leaflets which were given when she purchased an appliance.  I remember them from when I was a child and would look through her cookbooks.  I didn’t realize at that time how rare and priceless they are.  Now I do.

Anytime I cruise through vintage items for sale I will look through these types of cookbooks for the unique ones which catch my eye or call to me through nostalgia.

 My husband is an International Harvester Collector so looking for anything which was made by IHC is something which we do all the time.

Here is an example of one of the cookbooks which they gave when you purchased their freezers.

20160814_110636

Did you know that?!  They made freezers as well as many other items in addition to their well-known tractors.  Quite a history behind that company alone.  It is part of our country’s history and so interesting to learn about.

GE appliances are part of my history and my family has owned many GE items; especially stoves.  My Grandmother had this among her collection:

20160814_110549

It is a little worn but still a keeper.

And who hasn’t heard about Kenmore?   Sears’ appliances were/are found in many homes and Kenmore has been a name that has been around for many years.

20160814_110505

These two are unique to me though:

 20160814_110604

20160814_110618

What do you have hiding among your vintage cookbooks?

4 thoughts on “Vintage Appliance Cookbooks

    • Thank you, Billi-Jean! I enjoy looking through vintage cookbooks to find notations from the previous owner or recipes inserted as book markers, too. When the cookbooks were owned by my family, they become even more priceless.

~Speak to me~

