My Hook and Needle Story

My Mother was a creator and lover of all things pertaining to sewing and needle crafts; especially creating clothing for herself and her family and crocheting many blankets/afghans.  For as far back as I can remember, in my childhood home, there were crochet hooks, yarn, lots of material, notions and other odds and ends which she salvaged (she always kept buttons and zippers from everything and salvaged other material items to become something else.  “Use it up.”).  It was a very passionate hobby for my Mother.

As a child, I enjoyed playing outside and being with friends (no computers or electronics).  I did not have much interest in sewing, crochet or other needle crafts, although I had learned to sew, cross-stitch and latch hook at some point in my youth.  I never picked up those gorgeous colorful crochet hooks which my Mother used like magic wands.  I often watched her crochet and I was fascinated by what she created.  As I got older, I sewed more (and eventually she gave me one of her vintage Singer sewing machines) but that became the extent of my needlework endeavors.

After my Mother passed away there was so much yarn which she never got the opportunity to use.  And her many crochet hooks and knitting needles were sitting idle.  She would never again get to use them and I just couldn’t give them to anyone else.

A friend of mine, a young first-time Mother herself, had learned to crochet at some point before her pregnancy.  She created so many beautiful things for her baby and herself and I fell in love with crochet, again.  A spark ignited in me, finally!  I needed to learn those arts which I missed out on learning before.

One Autumn, at my Mother’s birthday, I decided to finally take that yarn and those crochet hooks and learn.  It was something I really wanted to learn and I wanted to do it in memory and honor of my Mother.  Learning at her birthday was perfect and I felt that she was helping me to make those stitches from Heaven.  She had wanted me to learn once, but it just didn’t happen.  Now it finally was coming to fruition.  Those crochet hooks were once again creating and I know that my Mother was proud of me using them.  I have continued to crochet and enjoy creating.

The following year after learning to crochet, at my Mother’s birthday once again, I decided to pick up her knitting needles and yarn and began to learn to knit.  It was something that I really wanted to learn since all of those knit items I was seeing were so attractive to me.  I really enjoy knitting as well.  As I gathered her knitting needles, I saw that she had begun to knit something although I don’t know what she was planning to create.  I still  have that unfinished item on the needles and hope to turn it into something someday.  I don’t recall my Mother knitting when I lived with my parents so I think it was something new which she was currently learning at the time of her death.  I haven’t found any completed knitted items, yet, in my parent’s home.

My Mother’s huge stash of yarn ended up in my home and I still have much of it and it is being used for crocheted and knit items.  Every time she and I would go shopping someplace, especially to a craft store, she just had to buy yarn, sewing material or other notions.

I am so very thankful that I have learned these two priceless needle crafts.  I enjoy creating with yarn, hooks and needles just as my Mother did.  Now I do understand my Mother’s crazy obsession for yarn and it is catchy!  I always look at yarn whenever I go to a store. 🙂

I have created many items for myself and others.  Among them I’ve made baby items, blankets, scarves, hats, cowls, amigurumi, shawls, doilies and dish cloths.  There’s so much more which I want to create (thanks to Ravelry.com and the internet with millions of free patterns and tips (oh, and YouTube videos to help too)!).  I now wish I would’ve learned when my Mother was living so that we could’ve shared that too.  But I am still thankful that I have learned and it has taught me that it is never too late to learn something that you’ve wanted to do.

4 thoughts on “My Hook and Needle Story

  1. What a lovely story. I am sure you are making your Mother proud by continuing your crafts in her honour. You are right, it is never too late to learn. Ravelry is amazing, I always check there first for patterns!

  2. Wonderful story … obviously it was in you all the time, you just had to find the right time to launch it. Your mother is smiling down on you, I’m sure!

    • I’ve honestly not looked at my talents from that view. But it seems to be true. They appear at just the right moments in my life, when I need them the most. Paige, thank you so much for your support! I do really appreciate your thoughts and comments, and from others, as they are so inspiring. My decision to go further with my blog, beyond photography, has been positive for me in many ways. 🙂

~Speak to me~

