Ever evolving

After 18 months of not posting, or even looking at my blog, I began to post again in February this year.  I had felt that I was trapped in the ‘photo blog’ which I had created and since I wasn’t doing much photography there was no reason to post anything to this blog.

I am an ever evolving individual who is learning more about herself with each passing year.  As my last few posts have shown, I am going to expand on my blog beyond photography and you will notice a change in appearance and content.  I still love photography but my interest has waned somewhat in the past few years.  As I stand behind the lens to capture events or beauty of nature, it seems like I am watching an an onlooker and not a participant.  I have often gotten upset because I am not in many photos because I am the photographer taking everyone else’s photo ‘in the moment.’  I want to enjoy the moments more and let them graft a snapshot of the experience on my memory.

To be truthful, when I would go places and drag my Canon along I always felt a heavy pressure on my shoulders to capture so many wonderful images (and was the one putting that pressure on myself).  When I would return home all I had were the photos of the day and my memories of the moments were not there in my mind and I could only look through the images and try to recall what I experienced as I was standing behind the lens in that brief time period.     I don’t want to continue to have that feeling.  Now when I go somewhere the Canon stays home more, I enjoy the adventures more and I have more memories of experiences imprinted in my mind.  As I am not a professional photographer and no one is seeking to purchase my images I don’t need to have that pressure which I created for myself.  It is time to let it go.

I am more than a photographer; I am still a creative individual who wants to express herself.  But I want to go beyond photography by enjoying and sharing my knitting, crochet, cooking and baking.  I also enjoy re-purposing items which I already own and using up the things which are here in my home now.  I’m trying to reduce or eliminate the things which I bring into my life.  After all, in the end it doesn’t go along with me to Heaven.  And with less clutter and things in my home, as I’ve been working on for over a year now, I am feeling happier and healthier then before.

I want to share tips and ideas with you and if it helps even one individual, I will be pleased.

I have found that even the act of writing my posts on paper is becoming therapeutic to me even if they don’t make it onto the computer screen.  So, even though I am not an acclaimed writer I want to continue to put pen to paper and words on my little home on the web.  And right now, words and ideas are constantly swirling in my brain and begging to be written!

I hope you will stick with me as I travel down this ever changing and evolving road as I learn more things about myself and share them with you.

 

2 thoughts on “Ever evolving

    • Thanks Paige! I appreciate the support and have always appreciated your comments on many of my posts in the past. I’m really looking forward to this change in my blog posting and sharing with others. Hoping to improve on my writing skills as well. 🙂

~Speak to me~

